Circulated in more than 100 States to personalities in the legal and maritime professions



The IMO International Maritime Law Institute Official Electronic Newsletter (Vol. 4, Issue No. 50) 05 May 2007

18th IMLI GRADUATION CEREMONY

IMLI held its 18th Graduation Ceremony on Saturday, May 5, 2007, at the Malta Maritime Museum, Vittoriosa. The ceremony was honored by the presence of the IMO Secretary-General, Mr. Efthimios Mitropoulos, the Minister for Competitiveness and Communications of Malta, the Honorable Censu Galea, President Emeritus of Malta, Dr. Ugo Mifsud Bonnici, members of the diplomatic corps, the judiciary, the government, academe, and other distinguished guests.



IMO Secretary-General, Mr. Efthimios Mitropoulos, Minister for Competitiveness and Communications, the Honorable Censu Galea, Professor Francis M. B. Reynolds and Professor David Attard with the Class of 2006-2007

Professor Francis M. B. Reynolds, Professor Emeritus, Oxford University, was conferred the award for "Meritorious Contribution Towards the Unification, Harmonization and Dissemination of International Maritime Law". Professor Reynolds has been a friend and ardent supporter of the Institute. He comes to the Institute annually to lecture on Carriage of Goods by Sea and is known to many generations of IMLI lawyers.

During the ceremony, four students were awarded the degree of Advanced Diploma in International Maritime Law under the Institute's Advanced Diploma Programme, bringing the total graduates under this Programme to five after two academic years. Thirty-five lawyers were awarded the degree of Master of Laws in International Maritime Law under the Institute's LL.M. Programme. This brings the total of IMLI LL.M. graduates to 396 coming from 110 States and territories, with the States of Jordan and Kazakhstan being represented at IMLI for the first time.

The following students were awarded the Advanced Diploma in International Maritime Law:

Mr. Aref Alrowaie, Bahrain Defense Force, (Bahrain)

Mr. Choh Jude Tabah, Commercial Agent, NW Chamber of Commerce (Cameroon)

Capt. Andrew Mallia, Armed Forces of Malta (Malta)

Mr. Philip Munaco, Defense Attaché, Embassy of the United States of America in Malta (*The United States of America*)

The 2007 Graduates under the LL.M. Programme are:

Ms. Mariana Bessa Jorge Calei, Judge in Sea Court, Ministry of Justice (Angola)

Ms. Maria Luisa Cayo da Cunha, Assistant of Minister of Justice (Angola)

Mr. Alberto Coelho Soares Ramos Da Cruz, Deputy Chief of Cabinet, Ministry of Justice (Angola)

Lt. Cmdr. Jorge Eugenio Cabrera Torelli, Lieutenant Commander, Argentine Navy (*Argentina*)

Mr. Mohammad Mohiuddin, Senior Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs (*Bangladesh*)

Mr. Vinicius Medeiros Peixoto, Lawyer, (Brazil)

Lt. Cmdr. Nubia Maria Santos Rodrigues, Brazilian Navy, Diretoria de Portos e Costas (*Brazil*)

Mr. Bruno Tussi, Lawyer (Brazil)

Mr. Qian Hai, Third Secretary, Department of Treaty and Law, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (*China*)

Mr. Ri Hyon Chol, Researcher, Maritime Administration Bureau (*The Democratic People's Republic of Korea*)

Mr. Ri Chol Ung, Researcher, Maritime Administration Bureau (*The Democratic People's Republic of Korea*)

Ms. Laura Ester Rivera Carbajal, Head of Pollution Prevention and Marine Environmental Protection Section, General Directorate of the Merchant Marine (Honduras)

Mr. Bashar Abu Rumman, Legal Adviser, Aqaba Special Economic Zone Authority (Jordan)

Mr. Sagidzhan Gabdullovich Kubashev, Legal Consultant (Kazakhstan)

Capt. Nishit Dhanvantrai Maru, Naval Officer, Kenyan Navy (Kenya)

Ms. Juta Kaktiniece, Senior Lawyer, Legal Department, AS "SEB LATVIJAS Unibanka" (*Latvia*)

Mr. Ali Al-Masri, Head of Maritime Trade Affairs Section, Directorate General of Land and Maritime Transport (*Lebanon*)

Capt. Zulkifili Bin Abu Bakar, Head of Investigations, Malaysian Maritime Enforcement Agency, Prime Minister's Department (*Malaysia*)

Ms. Raeefa Abdul Wahhaab, Assistant State Attorney, Attorney General's Office (Maldives)

Mr. Roderick Vincent Mifsud, Junior Lawyer (Malta)

Dr. Geraldine Spiteri, Advocate (*Malta*)

Dr. Robert Vassallo, Legal Consultant, Malta Maritime Authority (*Malta*)

Mr. Filimon Manni Manoni, Legislative Counsel (The Marshall Islands)

Ms. Khin Thandar, Deputy Director, International Law and Treaties Division, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (*Myanmar*)

Ms. Petel Garegy Bajoga, Lawyer, Chief Administrative Officer, Federal Ministry of Transport (*Nigeria*)

Cmdr. Ibrahim Majidadi Chonoko, Lawyer, Nigerian Navy (Nigeria)

Mr. Abdulmumuni Dirisu, Legal Officer, National Maritime Authority (Nigeria)

Ms. Obioma Nnenna Ugwu, Legal Officer, National Maritime Authority (Nigeria)

Lt. Cmdr. Guillermo Alfredo Bouroncle Calixto, Legal Adviser, Peruvian Navy (Peru)

Ms. Miriam Sara Repetto, Senior Legal Adviser, General Directorate of Captaincies and Coast Guard (*Peru*)

Atty. Lissa Belle Villanueva, Legal Adviser to the Commandant, Philippine Coast Guard (*The Philippines*)

Ms. Anastacia Amoa, Senior Foreign Service Officer, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade (*Samoa*)

Ms. Veronica Najima, State Attorney, Ministry of Infrastructure Development (*The United Republic of Tanzania*)

Mr. Salih Onder, Lawyer, Undersecretariat for Maritime Affairs, Office of the Turkish Prime Minister (*Turkey*)

Mr. Van Thuy Tran, Senior Official, Consular Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs (*Viet Nam*)

The following IMLI lawyers were awarded a distinction:

Capt. Zulkifili Bin Abu Bakar (Malaysia)

Ms. Juta Kaktiniece (Latvia)

Capt. Nishit Dhanvantrai Maru (Kenya)

Mr. Roderick Vincent Mifsud (Malta)

Mr. Ri Hyon Chol (*The Democratic People's Republic of Korea*)

Ms. Geraldine Spiteri (Malta)

Atty. Lissa Belle Villanueva (The Philippines)

The conferment of degrees was followed by the presentation of prizes for the best performance in the different areas of the LL.M. Programme:

The IMO Secretary-General's Prize for Best Dissertation was presented by Mr. Efthimios Mitropoulos, IMO Secretary-General, to Lt. Cmdr. Guillermo Alfredo Bouroncle Calixto (*Peru*).

The Malta Government Prize for Best Performance in the Law of the Sea was presented by the Honorable Censu Galea, Minister for Competitiveness and Communication of Malta, to **Cmdr. Ibrahim Majidadi Chonoko** (*Nigeria*).

The Malta Maritime Authority Prize for Best Performance in Shipping Law was presented by Mr. Lino Vassallo, Executive Director Merchant Shipping Directorate and Permanent Representative of Malta to IMO, to **Mr. Roderick Vincent Mifsud** (*Malta*).

The Profesor Walter Müller Prize for Best Maritime Legislation Drafting Project was presented by Professor Francis M. B. Reynolds to **Mr. Filimon Manni Manoni** (*The Marshall Islands*).

The REMPEC Marine Environment Law Prize was presented by Mr. Frederic Hebert, Director of REMPEC, to Atty. Lissa Belle Villanueva (*The Philippines*).

The Sasakawa Prize for the Best Performing Nippon Foundation Scholar was presented by Mr. Masazumi Nagamitsu, Executive Director of the Nippon Foundation, to **Capt. Zulkifili Bin Abu Bakar** (*Malaysia*).

The Graduates, members of the Faculty and distinguished guests celebrated the success of the Class of 2007 at a reception that took place on the terrace of the Malta Maritime Museum.

Established under the auspices of the IMO, IMLI is an international center for training specialists in maritime law. Since its establishment in 1988, IMLI has successfully trained 396 lawyers from 110 States and territories around the world who are now serving the rule of international maritime law and greatly contributing to IMO's aim of safe, secure and efficient shipping on clean oceans.

For further information please contact Ms. Josephine Uranza (Editor, IMLI e-News) at publications@imli.org